The Museum School

Governing Board

Regular Meeting - Tuesday December 18th, 2018 @7:00 PM

Meeting Minutes

Attendance Summary

Name Status Arrival Time Departure Time
Clay Jones present chair On Time At Adjournment
Jesse Lincoln present vice-chair On Time At Adjournment
Andy Huff not present member
Josh Horne present member On Time At Adjournment
Leah Dobbs present member On Time At Adjournment
Rick Clark not present member
Katie Cota present Treasurer On Time At Adjournment
Katherine Kelbaugh present member On Time At Adjournment
Katherine Moore present secretary On Time At Adjournment
Alan Locke present member On Time At Adjournment
Andrea Jones present member On Time At Adjournment
Danielle Royden present member On Time At Adjournment
Ingrid Irby present member On Time At Adjournment
Kelly Swinks present member On Time At Adjournment
Frank Furman present member On Time At Adjournment

Welcome and Call to Order

The Meeting will be called to order by the Chair.

Mission: The mission of The Museum School of Avondale Estates is to inspire students, teachers and the community to collaborate to develop strong critical thinking, interpersonal and academic skills in our students, which will prepare them for real-world success.


Core Values: Responsibility, Respect, Cooperation, Sustainability, Creativity, Kindness

Public Comment

Our Public Comment period is for members of the public to address the board. Each member of the public may sign up to comment at the meeting, and will be allotted three minutes. The board will listen, but may not directly respond to any comments. Please do not use specific student, teacher or administrator names in your comments as our meetings are open to the public and public record. As such, if your comment is about a private matter, please contact the board via email, or speak to the board chair privately.

Approval of Agenda

So that there is agreement between board members on the agenda, and the amount of time spent on the meeting, the board shall vote to approve an agenda for the meeting. To the best of its ability, it will follow that agenda, and allow for the chair to move the board through the agenda as specified.

Motion to approve minutes as posted.

By: Katherine Moore Seconded by: Josh Horne

There was no notable discussion on the motion.

Approval of Minutes from November 27, 2018

Motion to approve draft minutes as posted.

By: Jesse Lincoln Seconded by: Andrea Jones

There was no notable discussion on the motion.

Development Committee Update

Update from Leah Dobbs, Chair of Development Committee

Finance Committee Update

Review of monthly financials from Katie Cota, Treasurer.

Noted that personnel and benefits monthly number is different than usual due to the staff raises.

Funds account and money markets line item are lower, due to beginning of invoice payment of construction-related invoices for media center.

Facilities Committee Update

Update from Alan Locke, Chair of Facilities Committee

Old Forrest Hills Elementary letters evident in sign now that it is has full illumination; remedies being sought.

Rainy days and moving gas line has impacted media center schedule which is still being determined but is approximately 1-2 weeks behind.

Personnel Committee Update

Update from Kelly Swinks, Chair of Personnel Committee.

Governance Committee Update

Update from Jesse Lincoln, Governance Committee Chair.

Recap of fall recruiting / interviews, and motion to elect new directors to Board

Motion to elect Richard Piercy, Tamara Richards, and Janaun Ivy to the Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2019.

By: Jesse Lincoln Seconded by: Katie Cota

There was no notable discussion on the motion.

Diversity Committee Update

Update on activities of the Diversity Committee.

The Diversity Committee will be a standing item going forward on the Board agenda.

Communications Committee is working on opportunities to tell the work and story of the Diversity Committee internally and externally.

School Leader Report

Report from Katherine Kelbaugh, Principal.

Monitoring recent increase in student absences, including requesting more specific details from parents on reasons for absences, so as to determine if any additional steps are warranted to protect the health of the student body and staff. Principal Kelbaugh is in communication with DeKalb Board of Health for guidance.

Exhibit Night has been rescheduled for January to allow all students and staff to be fully prepared and well enough to attend. Exhibit Night will be conducted as a trial in across two nights, attendance divided into two grade ranges.

Interview for Charter School of the Year Award has been set for January 16, 2019. The winning school will be announced prior to the annual charter school conference.

Board Chair Update

Clay Jones announced that Rick Clark will be stepping down as a Board of Director member, after many years of service. Rick's contributions to The Museum School were noted.

The Meeting was Adjourned

The meeting adjourned at approximately 7:37 pm

Motion to adjourn

By: Clay Jones Seconded by: Andrea Jones

There was no notable discussion on the motion.